Honeymoon in Europe

Hi guys! I hope everyone is having a great summer. Being that I am a school teacher and have the summers off, I end up spending some time reflecting and going through junk drawers and cleaning things up. As I was doing so today, I happened to find the journal that I kept during my beautiful honeymoon to France and England last summer. (Man- I can’t believe it has already been almost a year!!) Unfortunately, I only kept the journal for our first few days there, and then I got so wrapped up in traveling across Europe that I stopped. Although this journal has nothing to do with barre or fitness, I thought it would be a nice addition to my blog- nice for all of you to read, and fun for me to reminisce as I type things up. So here you go- straight from the pages of my journal!

I will share Day 1 of our trip today. Keep in mind- I hadn’t slept for probably 30 hours when I wrote this entry due to traveling, besides a short-winded nap!

7/9/14

Last night we flew to England from Atlanta, GA. David and I had a 6:40 pm flight, which means that by the time we arrived I had slept for less than 2 hours and David did not sleep at all. On the flight we were sitting by an older gentleman who was traveling to England for a couple of work meetings who gave us lots of good advice about traveling.

By the time we fought our way through customs and arrived at our (gorgeous) British hotel, it was 9:30 am England time, and only 4:30 am US time. Wow- these time changes can certainly mess with your head! Unfortunately, David and I were still operating on US time. We immediately went to check in to the hotel upon arrival, ready to crash, but our room was not yet ready. Half delirious, we walked to a restaurant where I ate an avocado, mozzarella, and tomato sandwich, and David ate a mouth-watering ham and cheese croissant. I was pleasantly surprised by the delicious taste of food in England, but not so pleased that this quaint meal cost us 25 Pounds, which equals about $50 US dollars!

After lunch we half walked/ half dragged ourselves back to the hotel praying hard that our room would be ready. Luckily, by the time we returned, not only was our room ready, but the hotel was nice enough to give us a free upgrade for our honeymoon! As we walked into the room, both of us were shocked by how simply breath-taking it was. In addition to people telling us the food in England was bad, several people told us that the hotels were just as horrible. Thankfully, these people were dead wrong about both because anyone who knows me knows that food and sleep are two of the most important things in my life!

David and I shut the door to our stunning room, and immediately passed out for 2 hours. I made sure not to let us sleep more because I was (am) determined to get on their time schedule and begin going to bed and waking up when they do- effective immediately.

Once David and I had a little rest, we got up and went to a quaint little coffee shop (that, by the way, charged us 5 pence to drink the coffee there instead of take it out!) Besides that, the chai tea latte I ordered there was absolutely creamy and delicious.

After this we walked to Harrods, where we were instantly assaulted by some of the best food, clothes, and jewelry I have seen in my life. Once we became exhausted from this, we decided to pick up a “picnic” dinner from the grocery store and bring it back to the room. We then gorged on yummy sandwiches (salmon with cucumber for me and ham and cheese for David). We also had mango, prawn flavored potato chips, fresh shrimp, and a French wine.

Now we are hanging out in our room with the windows open enjoying the slight British breeze. It is hard to fathom that the two of us are literally half-way across the world! We will likely call it early today so that we can enjoy a full day of sightseeing tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

